The Rush-Bagot Agreement Established The Border Between The United States And Canada

Unfortunately, the Treaty of Ghent, which ended the war, did not contain any disarmament provisions. Rush Bagot Agreement, concluded in April 1817. U.S. Secretary of State James Monroe proposed to British Secretary of State Lord Castlereagh in 1816 that both countries agree to limit the navy`s armament to a single ship at Lakes Ontario and Champlain and 2 at Lakes Superior. Thus, in 1817, notes were exchanged between the incumbent Foreign Secretary, Richard Rush, and Sir Charles Bagot, the British Minister in Washington. The Rush Bagot Treaty or the Rush Bagot Disarmament was a treaty between the United States and Great Britain that limited naval armament on the Great Lakes and Lake Champlain after the War of 1812. It was ratified on April 16, 1818 by the United States Senate[1] and confirmed by Canada after Confederation in 1867. .